How To Become An Uber Driver In Florida – What You Need To Know

how to become an uber driver in floridaRequirements for driving for Uber are generally the same everywhere, but there are minor differences. Here I’m going to be covering how to become an Uber driver in Florida. I’ll be going over all of the driver and vehicle requirements, the different Uber services offered and what is available in your area,  Uber inspection and more.

To start things off, let me first go over the requirements that you must meet as the driver.

Driver Requirements

These requirements are for all Uber drivers in all states. In order to qualify to be an Uber driver you must meet the following…

21 Years Old: Firstly, you must be at least 21 years old.

1 Year Driving Experience: If you are over the age of 23 you are eligible with just 1 year of driving experience. However, if you are under 23 you must have 3 years of driving experience.

Clean Criminal Record: You will be asked to provide your SSN and Uber will run a quick background check on you. If you have a felony or misdemeanor that involved theft, violence, or drugs you will not be elgible.

Clean Driving Record: Uber will look at your Motor Vehicle Report (MVR). You will fail this requirement if you have had more than 3 incidents in the previous 3 years, have been convicted of DUI or reckless driving, or have received a speeding ticket for driving in excess of 20mph in the past 3 years.

Most people should not have a problem meeting these requirements. If you meet these then you are good to go. There is no interview or anything of that kind that you have to go through to be selected.

* The background check, according to Uber, takes 5-7 days. However, you can generally expect it to be completed before that.

General Vehicle Requirements

Now that you know whether you qualify or not to drive for Uber, you now must know whether your vehicle qualifies. The minimum Uber Vehicle requirements in Florida are nothing out of the ordinary. They include…

Age Limit: Depending on the area you live, your vehicle cannot be past a certain age. I have listed the age limits below this section.

4 Door: Your  vehicle must have 4 individually opening doors

+4 Capacity: Must be able to seat at least 4 passengers (this means in addition to yourself)

Working A/C & Windows: Your air conditioning and windows must be operable

No Marked Vehicles: Marked vehicles such as government vehicles, taxi cabs, or any kind of commercial branding

No Cosmetic Damage: If your vehicle is beat up then you won’t qualify. However, you can get away with minor damage for the low grade Uber services

No Salvaged Vehicles: Your vehicle cannot be salved or rebuilt

Vehicle Insurance: Your vehicle must be insured and your name must be on the policy

Vehicle Registration: Your vehicle must be registered. However, your name does not need to be on the registration and temporary registration is accepted

Other: Cannot drive full-sized vans/trucks or a Crown Victoria

Uber Vehicle Specifics

If your vehicle passes all the requirements listed above then you are already qualified to drive for Uber. Your vehicle would meet the standards of UberX, which is their basic ridesharing service with regular old sedan cars. But there are different service options that Uber offers in Florida including UberXL, UberSELECT, UberLUX, UbeLUX SUV, and UberBlack.

  • UberX – This is the “normal” Uber that you would probably think of when you think Uber. To drive for UberX you must meet the requirements above as well as your vehicle must be a Sedan.
  • UberXL – As you can imagine this is the “big” version of Ubers. To drive for UberXL you must have a SUV that can seat 6 additional people, as well as meet the requirements above.
  • Uber SELECT – Here is the class for mid-tier luxury sedans. To drive for SELECT your vehicle must be a 2008 or newer and have leather or vinyl interior that is in good condition.
  • UberLUX – This is for higher end luxury vehicles. To drive for LUX you must have a Sedan, SUV, or Crossover that is a 2010 or newer and is in excellent condition both inside and out. It also must have leather or vinyl interior.
  • UberLUX SUV – Here you have the same requirements as the LUX, except this category is strictly for SUV’s that have the capacity to hold 6 additional people. They also must be 2010 or newer and have excellent leather or vinyl interiors.
  • UberBLACK – This is pretty much the same as LUX, except your luxury vehicle must be blacked out, inside and out. The interior must be either black leather or black vinyl and must be in excellent condition. One important thing to note is that for BLACK you must have commercial insurance.

There are some other minor requirements that you might have to meet depending on what Florida city you live in such as putting an Uber sticker on your car and other little things like that.

What Uber Services Can I Drive For In My Area?

Every area that has Uber has their normal service, UberX. But if you are looking to get into one of Uber’s more luxurious and costly services then you first need to know what is offered in your area. Because these Uber services are not all available in every part of Florida. Because of this I have put together a list of what is available in some of the larger areas. I have also listed the required age of the vehicle to be eligible because for some reason that varies greatly depending on the location.

Miami & South Florida

  • UberX – 2006 or newer
  • UberXL – 2006 or newer
  • UberLUX – 2010 or newer
  • UberLUX SUV – 2010 or newer

Learn more about Driving For Uber In Miami Here


  • UberX – 2001 or newer
  • UberXL – 2001 or newer
  • UberSELECT – 2008 or newer


  • UberX – 2001 or newer
  • UberXL – 2001 or newer


  • UberX – 2001 or newer
  • UberXL – 2001 or newer
  • UberBLACK – 2008 or newer

Tampa Bay Area

  • UberX – 2004 or newer (2006 or newer in Hillsborough County)
  • UberXL 2004 or newer
  • UberSELECT – 2008 or newer

Get Uber Inspected

Its not exactly Uber inspected, its more like an Uber trusted inspection. And its not like you have to go out and get your car inspected just to sign up to become an Uber driver. If you get your yearly inspection (as is required in most states) then you are good to go.

If you are driving for Uber in Florida your car must be inspected yearly by a certified mechanic. In certain areas of Florida, like Miami and south Florida, the mechanic must be ASE cerfified.

In some areas of Florida you are able to get your vehicle inspected for a discounted price and even for free in some areas. For example if you live in Tallahassee you can get your Uber car inspected at Busy Beavers Auto and Transmission for a discounted price.

Uber Insurance

Uber has a $1 million liability insurance policy that covers your liability to third parties when you are on an Uber trip. And when I say “trip” I am talking about the time you are actually driving a passenger to the destination.

But Uber even goes as far as to cover liability when you are between “trips”. Not as much however, but it covers bodily injury up to $50,000/individual/accident with a total of $100,000 per accident. As well as up to $25,000 in property damages.

As far as your personal car insurance, all you have to do is meet the standards for the state of Florida.

Sign Up And Get Started Making Money On Your Own Schedule

If you meet all of the requirements then get started right away. Uber is always a good idea. You can work as little or as much as you want (provided that there are people looking for Uber in your area). So maybe you have a tight schedule but have a few extra hours a week, that works fine, you just won’t earn as much. No matter what the hours, whether you are going to do this full time or just do it for a side income, its all money in the end.

If you are ready to sign up you can go over to and you will see the page below. Here you will enter your email, name, phone #, location, and so on. Its a very straight forward process and doesn’t take long.


Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply: